Weekly Photo Challenge: Through

Well, it just so happens that two photos that I took this weekend during my mini-adventure in West Sumatra perfectly complete this week’s photo challenge.

1) This skinny little palm tree didn’t strike me as anything special until I looked at it from a different angle, an angle where the surrounding trees perfectly framed it. When looking at the tree through its natural frame, it suddenly became something extroidinary, something worth a snapshot and something that so perfectly encompassed the small island of Sikuai (said Sih-quoi) where I spent a lovely afternoon swimming in a coral reef and walking around the jungles and white sand beaches.

Sun dog on Sekuai Island

2) While sitting under the palms enjoying a simple boxed lunch on Sikuai Island, I looked up and noticed that there was a rainbow around the sun, also known as a sun dog! Shooting through the palm trees blocked most of the light from the sun, allowing me to capture the colorful frame created by the sun dog and share this beautiful natural phenomenon.

2 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Through

  1. Both are great “PALMS” but I really like the sun dog palm picture. Are you getting ready for the concrete jungle of NYC that you’ll be trading the present jungle for???? I am in count down mode to see you 🙂 Love you bunches!!!!

  2. I am also in countdown mode, though I am trying to tell myself to stay in the moment because soon enough I am sure I will be missing the madness of the jungle!

Leave a Reply

