Remembering a great educator…that I called Grandpa

Good times with Grandpa (the last photo I have with him) December 2010.

A year ago today I was living at a small lodge in the middle of the Pyrenees Mountains teaching French children at an English immersion camp. I was enjoying a momentary pause from late night lesson planning when I happened upon a Facebook post from one of my cousins stating that her “grandpa had died.” I didn’t want to jump to conclusions, she did have another living grandfather aside from the one we shared afterall, but I could feel my heart already leaping into my throat.

I frantically logged onto Skype and attempted to contact family members. In spite of the six hour time difference, I managed to reach my eldest brother. I could tell by his voice that he was about to confirm what I was hoping was not true, my grandfather had died.

It’s the kind of thing you worry about when you choose a profession that takes you far away from loved ones. I spent nearly three years considering such scenarios before I decided to pursue a career in TEFL teaching. But after weighing the “what ifs,” I realized that life happens and no amount of planning will help you to predict what will happen next. And so I boarded a plane to France and began my new life as an educator.

I was unable to attend my grandfather’s funeral, which led to plenty of mixed emotions. I worried about not being present to support my mom and family. I also felt relief in being able to process my grief via long runs in the mountains rather than black dresses and cemeteries. But mostly I took solace in my teaching and focused harder on my lessons.

My grandfather was an elementary principal and a WWII veteran. He loved teaching and he loved the outdoors. Being the hardworking man that he was, ultimately, I knew that he (maybe more than anyone) would have approved of where I was and what I was doing.

One year later, I find myself thinking of my grandfather often, especially when I’m at school. And as I prepare to finish another teaching contract and begin a masters program in education, I wish he could see what I am doing now. I bet we’d have plenty to talk about…over a cold tumbler of Bailey’s, of course.

One thought on “Remembering a great educator…that I called Grandpa

  1. YES, HE WAS A GREAT MAN. HE WAS KIND AND GENTLE. HE WOULD BE SO PROUD OF YOU AND WHAT YOU ARE DOING AS YOU CONTINUE TO PURSUE YOUR LOVE OF TEACHING. LOVE, MOMMADOO

Leave a Reply

